Reaching for hope (Psalm 42)

During hardships we tend to comfort ourselves by remembering the “good old days” reaching for hope, but wavering to depression.

The psalmist writes:

These things I remember

as I pour out my soul:

how I used to go with the multitude,

leading the procession to the house

of God,

with shouts of joy and thanksgiving

among all the festive throng.

Why are you so downcast, “O my soul?”

Why so disturbed within me?

Put your hope in God,

for I will praise him,

my Savior and my God.

My soul is downcast within me

therefore I will remember you…

Deep calls to deep

in the roar of your waterfalls,

all your waves and breakers

have swept over me.

By day the Lord directs his love,

at night his song is with me–

a prayer to the God of my life.

I say to God my Rock,

Why have you forgotten me?

Why must I go about mourning,

oppresssed by my enemy?

My bones suffer mortal agony

as my foes taunt me

saying to me all day long,

“Where is your God?”

Why are you so downcast, O my soul?

Why so disturbed within me

Put your hope in God

for I will yet praise him,

my Savior and God.

(Psalms 42: 4-11)

Notice how the psalmist’s mood improved when he cried out to God.  He chose to focus on giving him praise even in his dark times.  If we too will focus on such things we will find final strength.

 

Leave a Reply

